Sick Day, The Third

Oh, I have so many things to say!

First: sick days are boring. Okay, the first day was kinda neat. I came home from work early, I slept, I was diagnosed with a bacterial respiratory infection (Btw, GROSS?!? What do I subject myself to??) and got to reminisce with you all a little bit. Wasn’t that fun?

But yesterday was SEWW boring, I can’t even tell you. Literally, I’m trying to think of what I did, and it was nothing.

And today, well all I did was eat. I mean most it was soup and ramen and toast, but also maybe I baked the apple pie that’s been in our freezer for several months. Maybe. But as boring as yesterday was, I found myself reveling in that boringness today. I remembered what it was like to have nothing to do. As a sick person, you have plenty of time, but you really shouldn’t be doing anything. I can’t go out to places — might infect someone! Or worse, people will see me and think, “Shouldn’t she be in high school right now?” I can’t run around — don’t wanna work up the lungs too much! And certainly I can’t have friends over, because no one wants to hang out in your TB Sheets, B.

It was great to feel great about just watching a two-and-a-half-hour long French film, and many, many “FRIENDS” DVDs. And I remembered what it felt like to think I was somehow growing as a person for doing these things, and that was even better. And totally true!

I mean sure, I probably grow a lot more on a daily basis because of my grueling job, but this was still a recognizable amount of growth with waaay less suffering.

And besides, by this third day off, I realized I didn’t really want to be doing anything other than nothing, and I was just as happy as this duck:

I did start to feel a twinge of FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out), however, and I realized that going back to work after a five day weekend will probably be good for me. I hope.

Though there is a part of me that hopes my awful new frog voice will never go away, crushing my dreams of becoming a television broadcaster and forcing me into the unknown (world of frog voice-over work). But just a part.

THING TO LOOK FORWARD TO IN UPCOMING POST BUT WAS UNRELATED TO THIS ONE: My landlord informed Mickey and me today that we will be getting a new roommate for the next month and a half. He will be living in the room next to mine. Will I let him use my bathroom? Only time will tell, friends. Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

